Danny Breslin, a great author and my good Brit friend, has kindly dedicated this post to my Mass Communication students in Delhi University.

When my class started out blogging, he was the first one to visit their blogs, like, comment and engage with them. Deeply appreciated, Danny!

And I must add that Danny is a first-rate writer. You should take a minute to check out his book, Me and Gus on the Roof of the World.

So, as we discussed English, in all its verbal and written avataars, I asked Danny which Indian author(s) he enjoyed reading. This below is his answer.
Danny: I have to admit to not having read much from either Indian or British Asian authors. I once read an essay in The Guardian by Arundhati Roy which I found absolutely stunning but never got around to reading The God of Small Things. Perhaps it should be added to my reading list.
I guess my answer would have to be Meera Syal. I have seen some of the stuff she wrote for television and it was brilliant: Goodness Gracious Me and The Kumars at No.42. She has written some bestsellers, such as Anita and Me, which are based around being born and brought up as an Asian in Britain.
Here is a link to a page I found with the details of a few British Asian writers:
http://www.desiblitz.com/content/popular-british-asian-writers
&nbsp

Danny Breslin

I don’t like to boast (yeah right) but I think that having friends from all over the world is something worth boasting about. Inspired by my friend in India, Meenakshi (who is more proficient in English than I will ever be, despite my being born on these shores), I have written a few thoughts about speaking and writing in English as a second language.

Oh, and a big, big shout out to the girls in MJs class at the University of New Delhi. Stars of the future.

Spoken English

English is the universal language; it is a common link that enables the world to communicate easily and effectively. If fate had decreed it could have been French, but a quick visit to your history books will tell you why it isn’t.

When speaking English, if it is not your first language, it is important to listen to it being spoken by natives…

View original post 896 more words

