Tags

, ,

liebster-blog-award_logo

A blogging award nomination…. It’s a first for me and I’m thankful to Anita (one of Santa’s ‘assistants’) for nominating my blog on Christmas.

Thanks Anita for this lovely, and completely unexpected Christmas present.

Check out her craft at http://notedinnashville.com/ – she’s good! Here’s the thing about her blog – it is very well organized, neat and extremely readable – it gets regular loving attention. Her posts seem to exude positive energy that is infectious – now that is rare, you will agree.

When I first began blogging in the first half of 2012, I was not sure how it would go. Who wants to read my poems, I thought. I began. Gingerly. A poem at a time. A few people dropped by and I grew hopeful. Then, a few more. Thrilled. And more… Excited! Truly so!

And suddenly, I found myself making blogging friends and actually enjoying myself. Writing poetry has been a passion forever. Putting it here on Laughing Penguins is the joyful-est part of the experience.

The high point of my blogging this year was my collaboration with JE Lattimer on a post ‘Resourceful’. Check this out on his blog, http://mysteriesofthewasteland.com/2012/11/15/resourceful-a-collaboration/.

This is also where I want to say a warm thanks to my Flickr friends who are always agreeable to my using their amazing pics from their part of the world. I find myself deciphering emails in Spanish, Japanese-peppered-English, but the message comes through… “Delighted to let you use my pic!”. The real spirit of blogging community.

And here are the answers to the questions Anita put to me.

  • Do you sing in the shower?

Not any more. I do sing in my head though while I’m driving and I’m happy and the song on the radio bewitches me…

Who are some of your favorite musicians?  (Individuals and/or Bands)

I love Urdu ghazals and slow melodious Hindi songs. I also love the bands I grew up to – Beatles, Carpenters… you get the drift…

Do you remember keeping any of your New Year’s resolutions?

Never. I just crash headlong into the new year and let it take me where it will.

What is your favorite kitchen tool, and why?

The knife. It allows me to vent my frustrations harmlessly on uncomplaining onions and tomatoes.

What has blogging taught you this year?

To keep at it. And that the world is full of good generous people who will like you for what you are.

  • What are your blogging goals for 2013?

To clock more blogging miles – in terms of friends, and the whole experience.

My nominations for the Liebster award:

www.wrisources.com

www.grishmanphotography.com

www.wisejourney.wordpress.com

http://starsrainsunmoon.com/

http://beijomacio.wordpress.com/

http://sakshivashist.wordpress.com/

http://inkineticapoetry.wordpress.com/

http://salstuff.wordpress.com/

Dear nominated bloggers: please answer as many of the following questions as you can and like. And please spread the joy… nominate other bloggers and blogs you enjoy.

1. Would you rather live on a beach or a desert?

2. Do you write at some fixed time during the day or whenever you can?

3. What do you think is the key to a better world for our children?

4. If you were given a choice of being part of a new world on a new planet would you accept and why?

5. What kind of writing do you enjoy reading?

6. Do you remember the dreams you dream during the night? Do you document them?

7. Describe yourself in one or two sentences.

8. When I say ‘India’ what is the first image that comes to your mind?

Wishing all my readers a very happy new year 2013! See you then… until then, keep safe and smiling!

